Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Shays and Universal Joints

January 25, 2005 07:43AM
I have posted this under a separate thread to get it away from the GL ranting from which the discussion of regauging shays originated. Anyway, these are my thoughts originating from some previous studies of the behavior of universal joints. I have never worked on or with shays. I am not an expert. I did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. I am not a doctor nor do I play one on TV. But geometry and trigonometry are what they are and I have done my best to explain it. Flames may be directed into the firebox.
--
When passing power through a universal joint, the geometry of the joint causes the output shaft to speed up and slow down twice per revolution. If the joint is straight, the speed oscillation is zero. The greater the bend in the joint the greater the speed oscillation. The magnitude of the oscillation increases exponentially (not linearly) with the size of the angle.
With two or more joints, the oscillation adds or subtracts. With two joints bent the same direction (within a given plane), the effect is additive. Joints bent the opposite direction subtract. Joints bent the opposite direction to the same angle (meaning the end shafts are parallel) completely cancel out. This is why universal joints are used in rear wheel drive autos (where the transmission output shaft is parallel with the rear axle input shaft) and not in front wheel drive cars (where the wheel could be at a variety of angles to the transmission). Look under a tall delivery or monster truck and you will see the input shaft of the rear axle always points forward even though the drive shaft angles down to it. Otherwise the effect would not be cancelled and the wheels would exhibit speed oscillation.