Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Uintah Combine 50

May 14, 2015 11:04PM avatar
I agree also with Brian and Dan. When I was a Volunteer Librarian Assistant at CRRM, about the only time I disagreed in the history of things with Kenton Forrest was the data sheet that he wrote about Unitah combine 50 as there are many "field observations" that this was a former first lot D&RG Pullman car. A mention has suggested that this former Pullman Sleeping Car was originally named "Antonito". A previously mentioned was the paired windows. A 42' Pullman obviously did not fit around the curves on Atchee Pass and this car-body's length was modified by at were the old body bolster was a new end sill was installed, effectively cutting of 6' from each end, or 1 old Pullman section making the body length of 35'. This is evident today if one care to look underside of the car. Atchee car shop the made a new bolster 6' feet towards the center of the car or 6' from where the formally were. The needle beam location is original, although the truss rods are inherently shortened and the queen posts are shortened. Of course steel sheathing, carlines and roof was installed. The end of the car -body must have been salvaged or at least the framing and perhaps the door as it retains the Pullman rounded top. The interior was finished in what might be a form of plywood painted white, perhaps with gold trim on the seam battens? I think at the time of 50's rebuilding the URY replaced the Pullman 6' wheelbase trucks with a old set of D&RG "standard" 5',4" with a built-up roller side extension truck bolster. This bolster is different from the new D&RGW's as those were cast.

I think car 50 pre-rebuilt is in the forground, (or next passenger car) while possibly the former Pullman " Americano" turned combine is next to the locomotive although is hard to tell in this image as this might be AC&F built combine 1. Notice the box car "idlers".
fig9.jpg

As rebuilt.
UR 50-1.jpg