Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Telegraphone restoration by Friends of C&TS

March 19, 2015 04:20PM
Yes, it was common along the places where the RR line parallelled a highway or country road...We just replaced a lot of insulators. Usually, there was no interruption of service unless the wire was cut by the bullet that shattered the insulator, this was more common on the No8 copper wires than the big No 6 and No 8 iron telegraph wires.

True story...Fall of 1965...

One particularly bitchy one I got into was on the west side of Tenessee
Pass above Pando...I was at the time the "assistant" lineman to a Mr. Belker, the Section Lineman HQ'd at Glenwood Spgs, and, as an Engineering trainee, I had been sent there by the Supt. of communications to learn linework "by doing". Belker had taken
a couple weeks off for some reason, and I had his territory and line truck/motor car to myself to keep things fixed up over his district
which stretched from Salida to Rifle on the D&RGW while he was away.
Mostly this involved nothing but testing for troubles knocking out wraps in the telephone pairs, and replacing blown fuses due to lightning strikes and stuff like that. But I had
more to learn!

One day the No. 1 Morse wire Salida-Grand Jct failed "open" and tests
from the various available manned office switchboards indicated the open was west of Malta and east of Minturn. No. 1 wire was on the No 6
or right hand pole pin position on the top 10 pin crossarm, and also was the "time signal" and the only "in service" Morse wire over that district. The Boss wanted it returned to service ASAP. I was dispatched toward Tenessee Pass to investigate.

The weather was crappy, fog and intermittent heavy rain. I Unlocked the closed depot building'at Pando, made a test at the switchboard, and found the wire open east of there.
Drove to Tenn Pass and tested at an available test box there, wire was open west. Went back west towards Pando.