Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: NNG: Texas State Railroad

June 19, 2014 09:00AM avatar
I'm no expert either. I get most of my info from Steven, and I remember a few bits from other boilers I've had the pleasure to be around. Steven has the ear of many folks smarter than all of us.

One of the things I have determined here is that the TSR insulated themselves in many ways from the rest of the industry. They didn't seem to network with other steam operators very much and developed their own way of doing things, some of which are very....uh....different....from normal excepted practices. It's not that what they do is necessarily wrong, it's just different and in many cases inefficient.

But, this was a State property, and that was OK then, there was lots of money to burn. When suggesting a better way to do something, the most common remark heard is "but, we've ALWAYS done it that way....."

Well, not anymore. Now we do it THIS way.

Another point to be made here is none of the boilers were beyond repair.
300's boiler was messed up by someone trying to seal weld the seam between the firebox wrapper and barrel. Once heat from the welding got into the steel, the seam opened up like a big sprinkler. the more they welded, the more it leaked. They gave up and had a new boiler made.