Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Boulder Rail.org

December 07, 2006 06:58PM
"The Boulder Rail .org web site of the boulder county Railroad historical Society seems like it has not been touched in a year and a half."
First off, we use a yahoo group to send up to dat information about work sessions and projects out to members. If anyone is interested in being added to the list, please let me know.
As for the website, it's my fault. I graduated in 2004 which left me with less time to begin with, then I made the mistake of buying a Fairmont M14 which took me about 15 months to restore. Getting the website up to date is on my to-do list but it hasn't made it to the top yet.
some questions:
"did the GE Diesel being held there ever get moved up to the Sumpter Valley Railroad?"
Yup. They took random parts out of the cab of the one with a cab, and the other one's engine. We then set destroyed engine/good cab on the trucks from under the good engine/destroyed cab that they took. So now we have a fairly complete looking engine with a 2 foot hole through the engine block.
"The groups steam engine C&S 74 was moved to the Shop in Strasburg, Colorado. Is it still planned to go to Georgetown Loop for operation?"
Problem with 74 is that every single piece is shot. To run it would need a new boiler, and a new frame, and new running gear (I think?), so the plan is for it to be put back together and cosmetically restored. We'd like to see it run but we'd rather have a historically authentic engine than the "jack up the whistle and put a new engine underneath" strategy.
"Their coach was restored and moved to the Colorado Railroad Museum. Is it still there?"
I sure hope so!
"That leaves a lonely caboose in the park in Boulder. Is it still there or will it move out also?"