Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Scenic and the C&TS, an Oral History, Part 1: Meeting Fritz

October 01, 2010 01:06PM avatar
Over drinks after the opening session of the first TRAIN Convention in Milwaukee, Bob Keller invited me to join the Scenic team in Chama. Well, naturally, I had visions of blowing the whistle and ringing the bell dancing in my head, and this is just what Bob had in mind for me. But not quite the way I envisioned it.

But first, he said, I must go to Chama and pass muster with the GM, Fritz Baur. At that time I was a graduate assistant at Kent State, so I took advantage of Spring Break to make the trek to Chama – on AMTRAK of course. Fritz met me at Lamy, took me on a tour of Santa Fe, and then we headed to Chama. It was still winter up there. He got me situated at the Chama Station Lodge and then we went to the High Country for dinner and to meet a few of the guys. The next morning we met in Fritz’s office in the depot for a more formal discussion.