Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: history of transportation

October 17, 2020 06:44PM avatar
I'm a current student in the Durango 9R school system and would like to share some personal insight on this topic myself.

I can't say any of the Durango Elementary schools I attended offered a ride on the D&S. Still, I remember the idea was at least entertained when I was in 4th grade at Sunnyside Elementary, south of Durango a bit. I had been doing volunteer work for the D&S Polar Express events back then for a few years and got to ride it plenty of times using the vouchers they offered.

Anyway, 3rd grade is the first time I ever recall learning about real transportation history, although it was limited only to the state of Colorado. I don't remember much from that class except for the mention of General Palmer at one point. After then I had learned what I could about the Transcontinental Railroad on my own time thanks to the interest in trains I've had as long as I can remember, and it was never really brought up in elementary school again.

I then went to Mountain Middle School, and I am currently attending Animas High School. As far as I'm aware, it is the public opinion that Animas High and Mountain Middle are arguably the best Middle and High schools in the Durango area (Just to give you guys an idea of how highly regarded these are).