Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Yet Another Lost Locomotive Story

April 14, 2011 06:56PM
I've been on the fence over posting this, but since I don't foresee a time in the future when I will have time to follow up on it, Ill post it and hope someone else will at some point: Ive always had a knack for finding weird stuff. When I worked as an archaeolgist with the USFS I found a 1000 year old body with pieces of clothing on it, another time I found a circa 1200 a.d. site with slag, while on another occassion I stumbled on a depression era bootlegger's cabin hidden in the woods with full cases of whiskey. When I worked in Alaska I located a narrow gauge Porter in a creek that I published in a recent NG&SL Gazette. About two years ago while I was working on the Sonora Narrow Gauge book, I came accross what may have been the boiler to one of the Cananea Consolidated Copper Co's locomotives, and I suspect that there are two locomotives and an untold number of narrow gauge cars buried at the same location. Since I was visiting the plant under unusual circumanstance, I did not have the opportunity to investigate, nor do I wish to return as I was involved in a armed confrontation while there.